Ashley Cole was named England fans’ 2010 Player of the Year with Steven Gerrard and Manchester City midfielder Adam Johnson, second and third respectively.

It’s a surprise that Cole has been named the Player of the Year with most of last he being booed but his on pitch  performances have always been high, and with such a disappointing World Cup, where Cole was one of the better players, it would be hard to name many players that would deserve it. The poll, which has been running for eighth year now, saw fans pick the best performer in an England shirt during the previous 12 months. Cole only missed three games during this time and they were the friendlies against Egypt, Mexico and France.

No big surprise with Gerrard coming second in the poll as he is always going to be there or there about, but its great to see the young Adam Johnson who had an instant impact when he has played for England scoring a few goals and creating chances. For me he would be my first choice on the right side where he can cut in and score or create goalscoring opportunity.

Previous winners consist of Wayne Rooney who won the award in 2009 and 2008, and Gerrard who picked up the prize in 2007, Owen Hargreaves 2006 after an impressive World Cup, Frank Lampard 2004 & 2005 and David Beckham won the first back in 2003


Agree or disagree? Have your say!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s