Home

Newcastle have signed veteran striker Shefki Kuqi. The Fin has spent the majority of his career in England, playing for several Football League clubs including Stockport County, Sheffield Wednesday, Ipswich Town, Blackburn Rovers, Crystal Palace and Fulham. He has made almost 500 career league appearances, scoring nearly 150 goals. His trademark goal celebration of bellyflopping onto the ground has led to his nickname of the “Flying Finn”.

The 34-year-old, Kuqi, said of his surprise from intrest from Newcastle saying

“I got a phone call from my agent last week who said there might be a possibility to go there [Newcastle] and when I heard this I was over the moon,”

“In the beginning it was hard to believe, but in the end it all came true.

“I don’t really have the words to describe how happy I am. To get this chance is a massive thing for me.

“I am just happy to be here now and I can’t wait to start and hopefully try to do the best I can for Newcastle United.

“For me, it is a great opportunity just to be back in the Premier League again. It is something I have tasted before.

“Everybody knows it is the best league in the world and to be part of it and a club the size of Newcastle United, I am really proud. It’s an honour to be here.”

On the signing of Kuqi Alan Pardew he told Newcastle’s official website,

“We needed another option up front, because we’re a little light there due to the temporary loss of Shola, and Shefki will provide us with something different,”

“He’s match fit and knows the English game well having been in the country for the best part of ten years. He is ready straight away and that’s what we wanted.

“Shefki is a good, honest pro who will give us a strong physical presence from the bench.”

By no means is this signing a replacement for Andy Carroll,  but will provide good cover for a short while.

Agree or disagree? Have your say!

