Home

Chris Samba has declared that his is ready for a new challenge.

Speaking to French newspaper L’Equipe he said “Recently, mentally, it was difficult,”  “I tried to keep my level of performance, but I feel it is time for me to change. The club does not change at all. I am resigned …” He went on to say “I always put the interests of the club before (my own).” “I invested a lot, I always tried to lead by example, but things have not gone as I had said. I hope people understand me”.

At today’s press conference Steve Kean said that he had no issue with the player and had not yet read the article and so could not comment on them himself, but luckily for him someone had them at hand. Kean admitted that the club had received two bids form one club for the player and that they were both turned down and that the club has made it clear that they do not want to sell the player. With interest so high in him and Samba himself stating that he wants to join a “more ambitious” club, will they really be able to keep hold of him?

Transfer to London?

The rumours have been going around that QPR are interested in signing the player and with Mark Hughes at the helm a reunion could be on the cards, He signed Samba for Blackburn from Hertha BSC in 2007. But interest from bigger clubs is still persistent. Arsenal could still do with another big defender due to 1.) Their injury problems and 2.) Having to rely on Sébastien Squillaci, but I doubt Arsène Wenger will actually sign the Congolese defender. If Samba was to make a move in January and it was to an English side, I wouldn’t be surprised if he ended up at Tottenham. They may have five central defenders in their squad already, but with Dawson just coming back from injury, King unable to play more than 30 games a season, the last time he did so was in the 2004-05 season, and Gallas not getting any younger, Samba would be ideal. Honestly I could also see him in the lily white of Tottenham and it looking good on him.

PSG Interest

Samba is not just attracting interest in England but across Europe, and with PSG in particular. Carlo Ancelotti is now in charge and with PSG looking to splash the cash to bring  in the right players, I understand the rumours. Ancelotti has recently appointed Paul Clement as his Assistant, who before this was Assistant Manager to Steve Kean at Blackburn.  If he did sign for PSG, not only would there be a reunion of sorts for Samba with Clement but also he would be going back to where he grew up in. On the speculation of a transfer back to France and to PSG in particular Samba has said “for now, there is nothing concrete.” “In any case, it’s flattering” adding “The club has taken a different scale, it is not the PSG a few years ago. There is Leonardo, Ancelotti …I’m sure they will bring great players”.

“We’ll see if the interest is confirmed or not, but it would be nice for me to go home”.

Will Samba be heading out the exit door at Blackburn, he hopes so. The fans and the manager hope not. Time will tell, well the next 20 days anyway.

Agree or disagree? Have your say!

