Home

There’s a new Demba in town, Papiss Demba Cissé, he’s also the new number 9, in case you didn’t know!

On wearing the No.9 shirt Papiss Cissé said “I am aware of the huge importance of the number nine shirt, and when I spoke with the manager he made it very clear how important this shirt is.” adding “I will treat it with the respect and I hope to do my very best in this shirt.”

Newcastle fans are extremely happy with the signing and are even praise Mike Ashley for once, let’s hope he doesn’t do something like Sell Demba Ba to piss them off again. The striker is away on international duty at the moment, along with fellow countryman Demba Ba, with Senegal for the Africa Cup of Nations.

Newcastle fans can’t wait for the pair to partner up and take on the Premiership by storm. I can imagine “the Demba Bros” being a nickname for the pair, but we will soon see what the fans have in store. Cissé expressed his happiness at signing for Newcastle “It is an honour to play for such a big club and I am looking forward to it.  He also said “I want to pay back the confidence the Club have shown in me, and give the supporters something to be proud of.”

Alan Pardew admitted that he Cissé has long been a target of his “Ever since Andy Carroll left, Papiss was my first choice in the specific role he has at the end of the play.”  Adding “He is a finisher with an already-established CV in the Bundesliga, where we have monitored him for the best part of two years.

Pardew also mentioned how Demba Ba was looking forward to working with his countryman at Newcastle “I spoke to Demba about Papiss, and he cannot wait to join up with his teammate in Newcastle.

Could it be a dream start to their partnership if they are able to start together for Newcastle against Sunderland?

What Newcastle fans can expect of their new No.9

One thought on “Papiss Demba Cisse: Newcastle’s new No.9

  1. Oh my lord, i didnt realise this had happened. fair play Mike ashley though. he has as he said, slowly replaced Andy! I love this team pardew has fiddled together, they show a lot of fight. Very efficient blogg!

Agree or disagree? Have your say!

