Home

As well as the PFA Player and Young Player of the Year awards being handed out the PFA Team of the Year was also announced. Just as I had my opinions on the winners of the Player and Young Player awards I also have my opinions on the team of the year.

I am sure you are all aware of who made the Team of the Year but if you haven’t then here is a quick recap in goal Joe Hart; defence Kyle Walker, Vincent Kompany, Fabrizio Coloccini, Leighton Baines; the midfield had David Silva, Scott Parker, Yaya Toure, Gareth Bale; and up front RvP & Wayne Rooney. There are not many disputes I have with the XI but there are a few players I would have picked instead.

So let’s have a peek at what my Team of the Year would have been

In goal I have gone for Michel Vorm. It was a close call in all honest between a few ‘keepers. Of course their was Joe Hart, but also Newcastle’s Dutch first choice Timmy Krul, Arsenal’s new number one shot stopper Wojciech Szczesny and also I have been very impressed with the acrobats of Wigan Omani stopper Ali Al-Habsi. The reason I have gone for Vorm is because of his blistering start to the season that for me helped Swansea settle into their season and enabled them to play their football worry free of leaking in goals. The same can be said for Newcastle with Tim Krul and as the season progressed for Arsenal with Szczesny.

The defence is very similar to the one that was picked by the PFA with the only change coming with Coloccini not making the cut with Koscielny replacing him and here is why. Since the turn of the year Koscielny has really come into his own and as time has gone on the Arsenal faithful have really been able to see in him what Arsène Wenger saw in him when he signed him. The way I describe him is that he mops up the shit. If Vermaelen makes a mistake, it may lead to a goal but if it doesn’t it is because Kos was there to clean it up. When he has partnered Mertesacker or Djourou he has had to work twice as hard and when someone is mopping up that much shit, sometimes people just see the shit. Again there were other shouts for this position. Coloccini has been a colossus for Newcastle this season, having to clean up the shit at Newcastle. Williamson owns the airspace, but on the ground he just shits everywhere, and no doubt that is going to be an area that Pardew is going to buy in during the summer transfer window. Other shouts where Rio. United have one of, if not the best defensive record, and with Ferdinand making the majority of starts in those games conceding the least amount of free-kicks speaks for its self. Liverpool also have a good defensive record and that is in thanks largely to Skrtel.

In midfield there is a 50% change compared to the PFA’s and that is because I have gone for Cheick Tiote over Scotty Parker and Clint Dempsey over Gareth Bale. Let’s start with Tiote. If I had to choose one player that was going to be my engine room in midfield and I was given the choice of Tiote or Parker, I would take Tiote in a flash. A midfielder sometimes may not get the credit he deserves when he is acting as the engine of a team, and that is unfair, but what is more unfair or even bias is to highlight Parker but omit Tiote. Tiote, for me, works just as hard but runs around a lot more and breaks up attacks a lot more also. Scott Parker last season for West Ham was playing valiantly and when he won his Player of the Year award I was happy for him, but he has in no way recreated that this season. Now it is hard to pick Tiote and leave out Cabaye, but for me Tiote has been more consistent all season. Also if I am honest I like to see Tiote and Yaya in the same team. I wouldn’t want to play in a game if that were actually true though, my God could you imagine the carnage.

I was also toying with the thought of having Swansea’s Leon Britton in there, but deep down i just couldnt leave Yaya or Tiote out for him, though i think what he has done this season is a real accomplishment. There was also one other midfielder that I feel has done exceptionally well and that is Alex Song. Many call him a defensive midfielder, but where Arsenal is concerned there is no longer a role called defensive midfielder, but more a deep lying playmaker like Xabi Alonso. Calm down i said like Xabi. Song has assisted RvP with plenty of over-the-top passes, with some leading to some astonishing goals by RvP himself. Song may battle in midfield, but he likes to play football, more so than Tiote, in my opinion, but Tiote has more hustle and bustle about him than Song and that is why he is ahead of him in my Team of the Year.

Apart from a few eye catching performances at the beginning of the season, and a few tricks here and there later on, I haven’t seen enough from Gareth Bale for him to be included in any Team of the Year, whereas Clint Dempsey has progressively improved as the season has gone on.

Dempsey has not just worked hard for his team mates at Fulham but has also put in the assists and scored the goals to help push them up the league to a point that they may now finish 8th or even 7th. It was a close decision to included Dempsey and not included either of United’s wingers; Nani or Valencia. Both have been in great form this season and both deserve a shout, just as the two wingers at Swansea. Nathan Dyer and Scott Sinclair have been in great form, form that I felt deserved the very least and inclusion in the England squad for one of their numerous friendlies. Chelsea’s Juan Mata also has been in good form. In a sub-par Chelsea team he has been one of the shining lights, just as Sturridge has, but out of the all I feel that Dempsey is the more deserving and that is why he is in my Team of the Year.

Up-front is the PFA Player of the Year Robin van Persie but instead of Wayne Rooney accompanying him I have gone for Demba Ba up front. Both RvP and Ba had blistering starts to the season, and although Ba has cooled as of late, I still feel that he has been a better out and out striker than Rooney. Now I know that man sound strange as Rooney has scored more, but I don’t know if it is the expectations on what Rooney can do and does do, compared to what expectations are of Ba and what he can do and does do, but for me I just feel that Ba has done more for me to choose him over Rooney, meaning that Agüero misses out also. If Ba had been playing in either Manchester Club would he have scored more, most probably, and if he was playing up front with RvP would be score more, again I think the answer is yes. And anyway this is my Team of the Year and I can pick who I like.

I am sure there are people that agree with some, and disagree with others. Either way I want to hear your Team of the Year.

Agree or disagree? Have your say!

