Home

So Roy Hodgson has named his 23-man squad for the Euro’s and I have to say that I am not all that impressed. I am glad he took Oxlade-Chamberlain as I believe he could make a huge impact, if he plays that is. I am not happy with the inclusion of “the old guard” in regards to John Terry, Steven Gerrard and Frank Lampard as I would have liked to see a squad that was more representational of the new era and a squad that would be more aimed for towards the next World Cup and the Qualifiers.

If I were Roy I would have made a statement a week ago saying that this coming European Championships are going to be used as a dry run for the World Cup Qualifiers and then World Cup itself and will not be picking any of the players that realistically would be too old in four years time. I would have made it clear to the fans that this European Championship is not one that is going to be challenged for and that I have my eye on the bigger prize and would want them to still support the National side but not to have their expectations set to high this summer.

If he had done that I believe that with the expectation of the players it would give them the freedom to perform and with them knowing that they can’t rely on the likes of Gerrard or Lampard and on the flipside of that, any managers that had planned their tactics for those players would have to think again and that could also be used as an advantage. Some may feel that if Roy had done that then it would be a losing mentality or belittling the competition but they way I see it is that England would be better planning for the future.

Much has been made of the fact that Hodgson has only had two weeks to prepare, and that is something I would have used in my favour. The fact that he has had so little to prepare will be used as an excuse if England do poorly with the squad that he has picked, and that is the problem. There is already a scapegoat and it isn’t the players of the tactics it will be the amount of time to prepare. But if Roy had selected a younger squad and said this was in preparation for the Qualifiers and World Cup and stated because of the limited time to prepare decided to use this Euro’s as a template because their chances were limited, I think it would have been seen as a bold move and if England did well in the qualifiers and World cup then he would have been heralded as a footballing genius and if it didn’t then would people really have seen him in a different light than they already do as support doesn’t seem to be fully behind him as it is.

So what would have my Squad for this European Championship, well here it is. Parker is involved though I doubt he would be in the World Cup but due to injuries and a lack of quality midfielders I have him in the squad and as captain.

G         Joe Hart

G         Ben Foster

G         Scott Carson

D         Gary Cahill

D         Joleon Lescott

D         Leighton Baines

D         Micah Richards

D         Phil Jones

D         Glen Johnson

D         Phil Jagielka

D         Steven Caulker

D         Kieran Gibbs

M         Scott Parker (c)

M         Ashley Young

M         Adam Johnson

M         Aaron Lennon

M         James Milner

M         Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain

F          Theo Walcott

F          Wayne Rooney

F          Danny Welbeck

F          Andy Carroll

F          Daniel Sturridge

How I would have lined them up

Depending on the opposition I would swap Carroll for Sturridge.

2 thoughts on “If I were Roy: My England Squad for Euro 2012

  1. I think if Roy had come out and said that he’s looking for the bigger picture and the world cup qualifiers he would be in quite a bit of trouble, only because the F.A in my opinion, have only looked for an England manager to get them through the Euro’s.
    For me, England fans at the moment don’t expect to be winning this one so I think you’re right on thinking about the future.
    Just like you, I was ecstatic to find AOX included in the squad and like you say if he actually plays would be terrific. He’s the type of explosive player England’s crying out for that runs at defences with a purpose and unlike Theo or Lennon he doesn’t stutter at what to do when he beats his last man. He strikes me as a very instinctive player.
    I wonder about the inclusion of Parker as you do given injuries and just the fact that he doesn’t seem to have that creative side to him that he had in abundance when at West Ham.
    Wiltshire is going to be a massive loss for England as we all know because he holds the same game as anyone great out there. All the more genius from Monsier Wenger

Agree or disagree? Have your say!

