Home

I was shocked when I saw that Terry was found not guilty of racially abusing Anton Ferdinand. How with video evidence, two lip readers and a host of eye witnesses being used it seems a clear open and shut case. This is not banter, this is not acceptable behaviour for any person, and a ruling of not guilty just sends out the wrong message completely.

It is amazing that someone can admit that they called someone a “fucking black cunt” but because they didn’t use in to insult, it’s deemed okay. That for me is the long and short of it and I don’t see where there is going to a positive outcome.

I had seen this as a for-gone conclusion that Terry was going to be found guilty and that he would have to pay the “maximum” fine of £2500. The fact he has been found not guilty, I have to be very honest I have lost a lot of faith in the courts and the judicial system. Beyond football, how many view the “system” their views will have only been reaffirmed, which is also bad. As that just makes the tensions even higher when they really don’t need to be.

Let’s see if I make a joke with a colleague that involves race or religion, and for that person to be of that race and religion. If he and I knew it was a joke but someone over heard it and took offence and complained, would I be spared my job? I am pretty sure that I would face some severe repercussions if not get the sack!

It doesn’t matter whether or not you say something with the intent to hurt someone feelings or not. I am not a violent person. But if I hit someone, it is a violent act. If I drove while drunk, I may not intent to hurt someone, but if I did then I would have to pay the price. I could try and argue that my judgements were skewed because I was drunk and in the “heat of the moment” make a mistake and didn’t know what I was doing, but that wouldn’t matter.  

Much was made of Anton Ferdinand not hearing it at the time. That makes no sense to me at all. IT DOESN’T CHANGE THE FACT THAT HE SAID IT! I thought this case was whether or not John Terry racially abused Anton Ferdinand not if he heard it or if John Terry IS or IS NOT racist. Well he called him a black cunt. He called have called him a black twat, black bastard or black sausage, It doesn’t really matter, as soon as he put the colour of his skin into that context it became a racial slur. A racist comment. Not a comment made by a racist.

I don’t know John Terry. I do not know whether or not he is racist. But it was clear for all to see, apparently not, that he made a racist comment.  

If Terry had come out and apologized for insulting Anton Ferdinand, stating that he has said something out of character, deeply regrets it, will pay any fine that the FA give and face any action for the police and justice system, then I think people would have felt that he was truly trying to make a mends for it. But to fight tooth and nail to clear his name, has only muddied it more, in my eyes and many others.

In the end the judge has ruled that “there being a doubt, the only verdict the court can record is one of not guilty.”

I am very disappointed with this decision. For me it has only belittled a major issue. To those that do have racist or narrow minded views, this will be seen as justice and that is wrong. And what exactly has this show the youth of this country. If in show people starting use this language and the schools try and clamp down on it, they are only going to be confused as the law says it is ok.

And finally what does this say to non-white footballers or other sports people? That if you are racially abused just turn the other cheek! For all the hard work that Kick it out has done, this has pretty much set them back a few paces.

I pray the FA do something, but I am not holding my breath.  

Also is it just me that I seeing Terry smirk, just a little, in that pic?

Agree or disagree? Have your say!

