Home

Laurent Koscielny has signed a new long term contract while forgotten striker Marouane Chamakh has come out and said that he could be getting more playing time at the club.

Koscielny had a great season last year after settling in and getting used to the Premiership, so much so that he has made 85 appearances for the club in two years, more than any other player in that position in that space of time.

It is fair to say that his first season had it’s moments but was overall a bit shaky, but last year he became a force in the Arsenal defence and a fan favourite. He did so well that he earned call ups to the national side and went to the Euro’s with France. He hasn’t just become a fan favourite at Arsenal, as the French fans were calling for Koscielny to start ahead of Mexes in the friendlies leading up to the Euros and during the Euro’s themselves.

This is what Arsène Wenger had to say about the French defender on the Arsenal website. “Laurent has been outstanding for us over the last two seasons. When you consider that until 2009 he was playing in Ligue 2 in France and that he is now performing at the very top level in the Premier League and for his country, the development that he has shown has been absolutely exceptional. Laurent is a top-class player and I am very pleased he has decided to commit his future to the Club.” 

Koscielny was equally happy to have signed a new contract saying “I’m delighted to have reached agreement with the Club. I have had a fantastic time here and look forward to an exciting future with Arsenal.”


With Robin van Persie’s move away from the Emirates looking ever more likely it seems that the Moroccan striker is looking to stake a claim at the club.

Chamakh joined Arsenal on a free back in 2010 from French club Bordeaux and started well, but soon faded away into obscurity. When he did play, he played with what looked like a lack of confidence, which may be because when van Persie wasn’t playing Bendtner was while last season, with van Persie in exceptional form, he just couldn’t get a look in.  

Since the end of the season rumours have been rife with talks that Chamakh is looking to be offloaded. There was reported interest from Fiorentina, before they came out and said they had no interest in the striker at all, and there were murmurs from Turkey. But as the summer has rolled on Chamakh has stayed with the club and now looks to be setting his sights on some first team football with the club.

“If I am staying here with Arsenal, I will do my best for the team and give the maximum,”

“Last season was difficult. We were playing with just one striker and that striker was the best player in Europe. There was not a lot I could do.”

“I was upset because thought I could have played more but football is like that. Sometimes you do not have a chance.”

“I hope this season I will play more than last. I have not spoken with the manager but I will soon.”

“In the first six months after signing I had lots of games but after that I only played a few,”

“Yes, I need more confidence. But to be confident I need to play more. I am determined to stay.”

With Wenger already bringing Lukas Podolski and Oliver Giroud, even if van Persie leaves, Chamakh is still going to have a fight on his fans, as will Park Ju-Young and Gervinho.

Personally I think he deserves the chance, and what do Arsenal have to lose. They didn’t pay anything for him, so if you are going to pay his wages, let him play.

I say good luck to Chamakh and I hope you pull off an Eboue and make the fans change their opinions of you.

2 thoughts on “So not everyone at Arsenal wants to leave then

Agree or disagree? Have your say!

