bale pfa ypfa

Last night Gareth Bale won both the PFA Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year award while Luis Suarez, who came second to Bale for Player of the Year, was booed at the event.

Bale became only the third player to win both Young Player and Player of the Year, joining Andy Gray and Cristiano Ronaldo.

But that is something I don’t agree with. For me, if there are two categories, they are there for a reason.

I understand that Bale falls into the age bracket for Young Player of the Year, but if a player nominated for Player of the Year then, I believe, he shouldn’t be nominated for Young Player of the Year also.

Maybe the PFA should look to change the age bracket to 21, as footballers now-a-days are starting much younger than before. Look at players like Bale, Walcott and Wilshere who have been regulars since their teens.

Bale deserves Player of the Year. No question. But then I think the Young Player of the year should have gone to one of the other nominees. And if I had to choose out of those then it would have been Eden Hazard.

I don’t understand why Jack Wilshere was nominated, as he has been injured for parts of the season and his performances have not been as good as he can deliver.

On winning the awards Bale said “I concentrate on my football, awards are a bonus. To get voted by fellow pros is massive. I’m honoured.” A grounded thing to say and said in a professional way.

It seems a shame not all the professionals in attendance didn’t have the same level of professionalism as Gareth Bale when Luis Suarez’s name was announced as through the ceremony it was booed.

Coming from football fans is one thing, but from fellow footballers is another. It is a smear on English football. Whether he does things we agree with or not, a level of decorum should be shown.

Bale seemed to indicate that his new high level performances have come thanks to Tottenham manager Andre Villas-Boas. having said “I used to play on the wing”. AVB huged Bale when eh went up to accept his award. There is no question that sinec AVB took over at Tottenham Bale has grown as a footballer and have reveled in a more free but also more demanding role for Tottenham.

Team of the Year

Last night also saw the PFA Team of the Year announced

De Gea; Baines, Vertonghen, Ferdinand, Zabaleta; Bale, Carrick, Mata, Hazard; RvP, Suarez,

Its no surprise that this years Team of the Year has four players from the Champions Manchester United, the remaining players come from Chelsea (2), Tottenham (2), Liverpool (1), Everton (1) and Manchester City (1)


Agree or disagree? Have your say!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s